Alivia Pittman in girls soccer
Senior Alivia Pittman was a first-team all-state choice in girls soccer. (File photo by Logan Hannigan-Downs/Philomath News)

The 2020-21 sports seasons will definitely go down in Oregon history as one of the most unusual with a flurry of shortened schedules and culmination weeks pulled off over a span of four months.

With the Oregon School Activities Association not getting involved with state tournaments and playoffs, the classifications were on their own to figure out which teams should be crowned champions. Among the disruptions that were out of the norm were the selection of all-state teams. They were voted on and released for some sports, but not for others.

In the all-state teams that have been published, a number of Philomath High School athletes collected their share of recognition.

The PHS girls soccer team reached the final four in the 4A tournament and the Warriors had solid representation on an all-state team that was compiled. Senior Alivia Pittman earned a spot on the first team while seniors Mia Rust and Kaili Saathoff were included on the second team.

Among the traditional spring sports, Philomath had two softball players earn all-state recognition. Saathoff and sophomore Reagan Larson were both on the second team — Saathoff as an outfielder and Larson as a catcher.

Three baseball players received recognition in junior shortstop Cam Ordway on the second team, and sophomore first baseman Ty May and senior center fielder Adam Hernandez on the third team.

Brody Bushnell in cross-country
Sophomore Brody Bushnell’s finish in the state cross-country meet earned him first-team all-state status. (File photo by Brad Fuqua/Philomath News)

In cross-country, runners earn all-state status based on how they perform at the state meet. For the boys, all-staters included sophomore Brody Bushnell (first team), sophomore Mateo Candanoza (second team), senior Levi Knutson (third team), senior Grant Hellesto (honorable mention), senior Justin Enghauser (honorable mention). Sophomore Ingrid Hellesto (second team) and junior Kaeleigh Houchin (honorable mention) earned all-state recognition for the girls.