Philomath Junior American baseball team
Players huddle with coaches after finishing as the JBO state runner-up in the Junior American State Championships. (Photo courtesy of Sarah Woosley)

The Philomath Junior American baseball team finished as the state runner-up at last weekend’s Junior Baseball Organization state tournament.

Philomath opened the tournament Friday morning at Bob Smith Memorial Park in Lebanon with an 11-2 victory over Sherwood and returned to the field in the afternoon for a 9-4 win over Glencoe.

On Saturday, Philomath lost 10-0 to Sherwood and dropped down into the elimination bracket. The team regrouped to defeat Stayton, 14-11, in the consolation final for a spot in the championship game.

But Sherwood had a strong group and again beat Philomath by 10 runs, 15-5, to take the title.

Philomath’s Junior American baseball team finished second at last weekend’s state tournament in Lebanon. (Photo courtesy of Sarah Woosley)

The team’s roster included Gavin Bennett, Nate Bennett, Lane Bettencourt, Isaiah Goodenough, Colvin Henley, Jacob Hernandez, Sammy Hernandez, Matthew Noble, Lucas Pindell, Jesse Sexton, Austin Varnado, Jude Wilson and Rustan Woosley.

Mark Woosley was the head coach with his staff of assistants including Brad Bennett, Terry Stephenson and Riley Stephenson.

The team earned the tournament’s Frank Bashor Memorial Award for team sportsmanship.

Philomath’s Senior American team, coached by Kevin Berklund, also advanced to the state tournament. Playing in Dallas, the team opened Friday with an 8-7 loss to Scappoose. Later in the day, the team played in a consolation game and stayed alive with an 8-7 win over Mountainside — advancing with a rarely seen walk-off balk.

Philomath then faced Aloha on Saturday morning and dropped a 12-2 game to end the season. The host team, Dallas, was the tournament champion.

Philomath advanced to state as the fourth seed out of the Valley League.

The team’s roster included Caleb Babcock, Joe Barnes, Mitchell Berklund, Rocco DelaRosa, Wylie Griffith, Lukas Hernandez, Colton Hruska, Logan Matthews, Lake Mulberry, Grant Niemann, Kayson Olsen, Brady Russell, River Sandstrom and Walker Westbrook.

Assistant coaches were Jeff Sandstrom, Kasey Olsen and Jeremy Hruska.

Did you enjoy this content? The news site has no paywall but we do rely on voluntary memberships. If you’re already a member, thank you. To join our community as a member or to make a one-time contribution, please CLICK HERE.