The Philomath School Board plans to make a decision on filling its vacant seat during a special session on Tuesday night.

The meeting is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. Aug. 9 at the school district’s office building at 1620 Applegate St. For those who want to attend, enter the building through a door situated at the back of the building.

Four individuals applied for the volunteer position — Ryan Cheeke, Abigail Kurfman, Janelle Marcotte and Christopher McMorran.

The board’s agenda includes candidate interviews, making a choice through a vote and swearing in the new member with the oath of office.

Current School Board members include Joe Dealy, Eric Gudge, Karen Skinkis and Rick Wells, who serves as the chair. The vacancy, which is for Position 2, was created with the recent resignation of Anton Grube.

The person appointed to the position would serve out the remainder of Grube’s term, which expires on June 30, 2023.