All-conference first-teamers from Philomath include Cole Beardsley, from left, Ty May, Abigail Brown and Emily Taunisila. (File photos by Brad Fuqua/Philomath News)

Philomath High School’s boys and girls basketball programs each have two players included on the all-Oregon West Conference’s first team, the league announced this week.

Seniors Cole Beardsley and Ty May were selected to the first team for the boys while senior Abigail Brown and freshman Emily Taunisila were included on the first team for the girls.

Beardsley and May helped the Warriors to a 19-3 record and No. 1 ranking entering the Class 4A playoffs. Coach Blake Ecker was one of three recognized as a co-coach of the year — the others being Cascade’s Justin Amaya and North Marion’s Tully Wagner.

Beardsley averaged 9.5 points, 4.4 rebounds, 4.5 assists and 3.2 steals per game in the Oregon West. May had averages in league play of 10.5 points, 4.4 rebounds and 2.8 assists per game. In addition to Beardsley and May, senior Chad Russell and junior Jacob Peters were named to the second team and junior Preston Kramer earned recognition on the honorable mention list. Russell averaged 6.9 points, 3.8 rebounds and 1.7 blocks per game in the Oregon West. Peters had averages of 10.1 points, 9.2 rebounds and 1.8 assists and Kramer averaged 10.1 points, 4.8 rebounds and 3.0 assists.

North Marion guard Cole Hammack was named the Oregon West Player of the Year.

In all, Cascade had six players recognized and Philomath was close behind with five, followed by North Marion (four), Newport (three), Stayton (three) and Sweet Home (two).

Philomath’s boys will play in the first round of the 4A playoffs at 6 p.m. Saturday at home against Hidden Valley.

For the girls, Brown’s inside shooting, blocking and rebounding led to a first-team spot. In conference play, she averaged 12.6 points per game with a high of 22 against North Marion. Taunisila, meanwhile, earns a significant honor as a freshman with her work on offense and defense. She averaged 7.3 points per game in league play.

Three other PHS players were named as honorable mention selections — senior Hailie Couture (5.0 points per game in league play), junior Ahnika Tryon (4.3 ppg) and sophomore Anneka Steen (4.7 ppg).

Cascade junior Maddie Dustin earned the Player of the Year honor. Nick Randall of the Cougars was named Coach of the Year. Cascade led with six all-conference selections with Philomath coming in with five, followed by Newport (four), Stayton (three), North Marion (one) and Sweet Home (one).

The defending state champion Warriors compiled a 16-7 record and qualified for the 4A playoffs with a play-in game win earlier this week over St. Helens. Philomath faces Marist Catholic on the road at 6 p.m. Friday.