Benton County ballot box
Filings for the May 17 primary election closed Tuesday. (File photo by Brad Fuqua/Philomath News)

The deadline to file for the May 17 primary election passed Tuesday and the Benton County Elections office shows two candidates vying for the Democratic nomination to appear on this fall’s ballot for a county commissioner’s seat.

Incumbent Pat Malone, of Kings Valley, and challenger Helen Higgins, of Corvallis, are both vying for their party’s nomination for Position 1 on the Benton County Board of Commissioners. As of Wednesday, a list of those who filed showed one candidate certified for the Republican nomination, Bill Currier, of Adair Village.

The primary election is a method for political parties to nominate their candidates for the Nov. 8 general election ballot. No one is elected in a primary election and any nonpartisan candidates do not participate.

The elections office accepted filings from nonpartisan candidates interested in running for county sheriff but received only one — current sheriff Jeff Van Arsdall. As such, the position will skip the primary election and go straight to the general election.

Position 1 on the county commissioners comes with a four-year term. The other two seats on the board — held by Xan Augerot and Nancy Wyse — are not up for re-election this year with staggered terms.

Malone, who operates a tree farm in Kings Valley, filed Oct. 8 and is seeking a second term. For those seeking more information, options include his website and Facebook page.

Higgins, executive director of the Boys & Girls Club of Corvallis, filed to run on Dec. 16. She has a website and Facebook page set up for those interested in reading more about her candidacy.

Currier, the only Republican listed with a certified filing, owns Traco Network Services and works as a systems administrator. A former mayor of Adair Village, Currier filed on Tuesday. For more information, he maintains a website.

The Benton County Elections and Passports office lists April 27 as the date for local ballots to be mailed to residents.

The final day for citizens to register to vote will be April 26.