A focal point of the community, the old Philomath College building dates back to 1867 with its construction leading to the establishment of this city. Today, the Benton County Historical Society maintains the building as the Philomath Museum.
But did you know that the once-bustling Philomath College campus featured other buildings and amenities before it closed down in June 1929? In this week’s Philomath 5, we take a closer look.
1. Main building
This is the iconic structure that remains today to watch over Philomath. The United Brethren Church’s construction on the original building was completed in 1867 and featured only a three-story central pavilion that measured 40-by-60 feet. According to records included in Philomath College’s National Register of Historic Places application, it reportedly took 50,000 bricks to build the original section of the school. Timber from the Henkle mill was used in the construction. The building featured two classrooms on the main floor and a chapel on the second floor. In 1905, a west wing was added and an east wing was completed two years later in 1907 to give the building the appearance that it has today.
2. Dormitory
Philomath College added a dormitory to its campus in 1877. According to a history of the school written in the 1920s, the building had 12 rooms with the intention of housing 20 boys along with a family in charge. It received a much-needed renovation around the turn of the century with students doing the work for cash and tuition. The location of the dorm was to the west of the main building. It does not stand today.
3. Elementary department
The Benton County Historical Society article states that a small building to the east was originally built for the college’s elementary department. After the college discontinued that program, the building was used for the music department and later on as a social hall. The National Register application reports that the building was a two-story structure that was built in the 1897-99 time period. It does not stand today.
4. Gymnasium
Athletics had its place at Philomath College and a gymnasium was added to the campus in 1902. As was the case with the dorm building improvements, student labor was used for construction with payment in cash and tuition. The building reportedly had two sections — the front half was built first and used for a library and social science classes. The back half featured a basketball court to accommodate a sport that was growing in popularity. Philomath High School students used the gym for basketball until they got their own years later. It does not stand today.
5. Tennis courts
Many people in the community were pleased with the construction of tennis courts in town a few years ago. Well, the activity has a long history in Philomath with a tennis court on the college campus in an area that, based on an old photo, appeared to be located behind the main building. Based on the C.G. Springer history that was written in 1929, it seems as though tennis appeared on campus possibly in the late 1890s.
(Brad Fuqua is publisher/editor of the Philomath News. He can be reached at News@PhilomathNews.com).
